36 to 80 in 2 seconds.

by flutterbox

So, I have a slipped disc…& sciatica.

It’s very painful.  As soon as I stand up I’m in pain.  Forget about me walking very far.  I’m like an 80 year old.  I either have to use the electric carts, or lean over the shopping cart & walk uber slow…  It.  Sucks.

As mentioned in my first post on here I lost a job because I couldn’t stand up as much as they wanted me to.  I tried to get unemployment, but they let me go just after 3.5 months.  Boy I was pissed off.  I did my job just fine.  That was the reason they let me go.  Because I had to stand up for guests.  Told them in the interview I had a back problem.  “That won’t be a problem.  Just stand up as much as you can.”  Uh huh…Well, I did that to the best of my ability.  But when we’re uber busy & no doctors in the state of Ohio want to prescribe pain pills (apparently there’s a horrid drug abuse problem in this part of the country – among other places.)  I’m so sorry, but I need to sit my big ass down!  I sat up front, answered 90% of the phone calls, dealt with 90% of our guests, & did most of the work that needed to be done.  My coworker (who is fat & lazy – I can call him fat because as I also mentioned in my first post am fat too – sat in the back most of the night either watching tv or playing on his laptop.)

I’ve seen 5 separate doctors about my back.  None of them want to prescribe anything to help with the pain.  It’s not like I want to abuse them!  Drug test me weekly, do pill counts, whatever, I don’t care… I don’t abuse drugs.  I mean LOOK AT MY FUCKING X-RAYS PEOPLE.  YOU ARE DOCTORS.  You should see that I ACTUALLY have a legitimate problem.   I have chronic pain!!!!!!!!   They all want me to lose weight.  They “prescribe” physical therapy & exercise.  Standard doctor response, “your weight isn’t helping your back problem.”  Well, no shit Sherlock!  In order to lose weight, one has to exercise.  Well, as soon as I stand up I’m in so much pain I can hardly stand it.  I am too poor at the moment to join a gym with a bike machine so I can exercise sitting down.  I don’t own a bike.  Even if I could afford to buy one, I don’t have the room to store it in the house.  Someone would steal it if it were outside.  So, how the fuck am I supposed to lose weight?  Believe me… If I could wave a magic fairy wand over myself &  *POOF*  lose 160lbs… I WOULD!   But, it doesn’t work that way.

The last doctor I saw was an Orthopedic surgeon at the Ortho center in Columbus.  I figured, “Hey!  Here’s a doctor that specializes in this sort of thing!  He will *surely* understand my back pain &  *H E L P* me!!!!!”  Ummm…No.  Another Rx for physical therapy. “Which is quite expensive” his receptionist told me.  I told her I have no insurance & can’t afford that.  I paid $135 for him to tell me the exact same thing that the ER doctor (who ordered the above x-ray) told me.  Was I pissed off?  Quite a bit.  I asked if I could get anything for pain, but he doesn’t prescribe anything unless he does surgery on you.  So, I asked for a referral to a pain management clinic.  They aren’t taking new patients.  *sigh*  So, I DID get out of the receptionist that if I find a PM clinic that I want to go to they will refer me there.  I did an internet search & found one that seems promising.  All the clinics in this area (except that one) I’ve found online all want to give an epidural for this sort of thing.  I’m sorry, but I’m not too keen on sticking a needle into my spine on a regular basis.  I’d like to avoid the potential for paralysis as much as I can.  K?  Thanks!

So, how about a little help in the pain management department so I CAN get off my fat ass, exercise & maybe… just possibly… function like a normal human being huh?

